Tour Review and Giveaway ~ Keeper of the Mist by Rachel Neumeier




The Keeper of the Mist
by Rachel Neumeier
Publisher: Knopf Books for Young Readers
Release Date: March 8th 2016
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy, Fiction
Rate: 3 stars

Synopsis:

A lush new fantasy about finding the will to lead against all odds, perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone.

Keri has been struggling to run her family bakery since her mother passed away. Now the father she barely knew—the Lord of Nimmira—has died, and ancient magic has decreed that she will take his place as the new Lady. The position has never been so dangerous: the mists that hide Nimmira from its vicious, land-hungry neighbors have failed, and Keri’s people are visible to strangers for the first time since the mists were put in place generations ago. At the same time, three half-brothers will their own eyes on the crown make life within the House just as dangerous as the world outside.

But Keri has three people to guide her: her mysterious Timekeeper, clever Bookkeeper, and steadfast Doorkeeper. Together they must find a way to repair the boundary before her neighbors realize just how vulnerable Nimmira is.

With a spunky main character, lyrical storytelling, and hidden romance, The Keeper of the Mist is an engrossing story that is full of adventure.



 The Keeper of the Mist is a unique fantasy, revolving around Keri, or Lady Keri. Unexpectedly thrown into the role of Lady, after trying to keep a failing bakery afloat, Keri's whole world is turned upside down. To make matters worse, she couldn't have gained her new position at a worse time. Thankfully, she has three loyal friends to stand by her, and a tiny bit of romance, too.

 The best part of the story for me was definitely the relationship between Keri, Cort, Tassel and the Timekeeper. This element definitely held my interest more than any other part. Keri was a good character, strong and intelligent, and I enjoyed her carrying the story. The writing was also pretty dang good. I haven't read any of the authors other books, but with her writing style, I think I might have to give them a shot.

 The world-building was inventive, and interesting, but I will admit there was some confusion on my part. More than likely, that's just me, though. But the magic itself more than made up for it. I love any type of magic, and this magic was no different.

 All in all, The Keeper of the Mists was a good read for me. I don't read a ton of Fantasy, but books like this one make me much more inclined to do so. And I am definitely feeling a lot more inclined to go see what else I can find from Ms. Neumeier!




 photo addtogoodreadssmall_zpsa2a6cf28.png photo B6096376-6C81-4465-8935-CE890C777EB9-1855-000001A1E900B890_zps5affbed6.jpg



Follow the The Keeper Of The Mist by Rachel Neumeier Blog Tour and don't miss anything! Click on the banner to see the tour schedule.






Rachel Neumeier started writing fiction to relax when she was a graduate student and needed a hobby unrelated to her research. Prior to selling her first fantasy novel, she had published only a few articles in venues such as The American Journal of Botany. However, finding that her interests did not lie in research, Rachel left academia and began to let her hobbies take over her life instead.

She now raises and shows dogs, gardens, cooks, and occasionally finds time to read. She works part-time for a tutoring program, though she tutors far more students in Math and Chemistry than in English Composition.









No comments:

Post a Comment

BLOG DESIGN BY DESIGNER BLOGS