Amanda thinks Becoming Audrey Hepburn would look good on TV

By Mitchell Kriegman
Published on September 16, 2014
Published by St Martin's Griffin
Source: Publisher
In Being Audrey Hepburn, Clarissa Explains It All-creator, Mitchell Kriegman, tells the story of a 19-year-old girl from Jersey who finds herself thrust into the world of socialites after being seen in Audrey Hepburn’s dress from the film Breakfast at Tiffany’s.Lisbeth comes from a broken home in the land of tube tops, heavy eyeliner, frosted lip-gloss, juiceheads, hoop earrings and “the shore.” She has a circle of friends who have dedicated their teenage lives to relieve the world of all its alcohol one drink at a time.

Obsessed with everything Audrey Hepburn, Lisbeth is transformed when she secretly tries on Audrey’s iconic Givenchy. She becomes who she wants to be by pretending to be somebody she’s not and living among the young and privileged Manhattan elite. Soon she’s faced with choices that she would never imagine making – between who she’s become and who she once was.

In the tradition of The Nanny Diaries and The Devil Wears Prada, this is a coming of age story that all begins with that little black dress…


Whoever wrote the summary above is absolutely right.  This book reads like a combination of The Nanny Diaries and The Devil Wears Prada.  It was a fun read  that was so visual I could see it happening in my mind.

If you are not a fan of fashion, this may not be a book for you.  This is a book that describes each outfit that Lisbeth wears in a loving fashion.  It gives us each detail and accessory that Lisbeth wears and even gives us a bit of history with the designers.  This is a book for fashionistas absolutely.

Though I am knowledgeable about fashion, to be honest, I don't really care.  I did enjoy the excitement the characters gave about fashion though- you could honestly tell the characters, and perhaps even the author genuinely cared about the subject.

This book was never really about the romance, although it is in there- it centers on Lisbeth's needs to be who she isn't and live how "the other side" lives.  It was an incredibly interesting look.  The characters seemed a little stereotyped (though never living on "the other side... aka rich" I don't really know how they act for real.) I do know, though, that this book would translate beautifully to tv and would be an interesting show to fill the Gossip Girl hole that is evident on TV.

This was a fun book, that I enjoyed reading, but I can't say it is one I will read over and over again.  I do hope, though that they put this on tv- I would enjoy reading it.




No comments:

Post a Comment

BLOG DESIGN BY DESIGNER BLOGS