The Midnight Thief

By Livia Blackburne
Published on July 8, 2014
Published by Disney-Hyperion
Source: Netgalley
Growing up on Forge’s streets has taught Kyra how to stretch a coin. And when that’s not enough, her uncanny ability to scale walls and bypass guards helps her take what she needs.

But when the leader of the Assassins Guild offers Kyra a lucrative job, she hesitates. She knows how to get by on her own, and she’s not sure she wants to play by his rules. But he’s persistent—and darkly attractive—and Kyra can’t quite resist his pull.

Tristam of Brancel is a young Palace knight on a mission. After his best friend is brutally murdered by Demon Riders, a clan of vicious warriors who ride bloodthirsty wildcats, Tristam vows to take them down. But as his investigation deepens, he finds his efforts thwarted by a talented thief, one who sneaks past Palace defenses with uncanny ease.

When a fateful raid throws Kyra and Tristam together, the two enemies realize that their best chance at survival—and vengeance—might be to join forces. And as their loyalties are tested to the breaking point, they learn a startling secret about Kyra’s past that threatens to reshape both their lives




I was all over the place with my feelings for this book.  So Midnight Thief is a high fantasy book.  It is NOT middle grade (like I assumed for some strange reason).  It follows the same basic storyline as a few other popular YA high fantasy books- strong female character is doing illegal things, gets caught, and is put to work for the kingdom and all sorts of twists and turns happen.

There is so much I want to say about this book but I can't. I will say though, that that cover is NOT a doorknocker like I assumed it was.  The cover says so much more about the book than I expected.  The Midnight Thief was a solid book for me.  There was some romance (not totally swoonworthy, but respectable) and a ton of magic and adventure.

I don't really want to pick apart this book because there is a fairly large twist and I don't want to give that away, but that being said, this was a solid high fantasy.  Fans of Maria V Snyder, Shadow and Bone, and Throne of Glass will slip into this world easily.


2 comments:

  1. This is one that I'm pretty excited about. Hmm now I'm curious because I thought the cover was a doorknocker as well.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Oh, how I want it! So, so bad! Loved your review, as always!

    ReplyDelete

BLOG DESIGN BY DESIGNER BLOGS