Sleep No More

By Aprilynne Pike
Published on April 29th 2014
Published by HarperTeen
Source: Publisher
The blockbuster film Inception meets Lisa McMann's Wake trilogy in this dark paranormal thriller from #1 New York Times bestselling author Aprilynne Pike. This novel is also perfect for fans of Kelley Armstrong, Alyson Noel, and Kimberly Derting.

Charlotte Westing has a gift. She is an Oracle and has the ability to tell the future. But it doesn't do her much good. Instead of using their miraculous power, modern-day Oracles are told to fight their visions—to refrain from interfering. And Charlotte knows the price of breaking the rules. She sees it every day in her wheelchair-bound mother and the absence of her father. But when a premonition of a classmate's death is too strong for her to ignore, Charlotte is forced to make an impossible decision: continue following the rules or risk everything—even her sanity—to stop the serial killer who is stalking her town.
Wow this book was intense!  I am a huge fan of Aprilynne Pike- especially her fantasy series about fae.  I knew two things about this book- it was going to be VERY different from her other books and that it was going to be an excellent read.  I was absolutely right.

This book is absolutely a thriller- there are murders and a girl who can see the future and who is in way over her head. I liked Charlotte's character.  We start the story finding out what tragic event in her childhood makes her personality the way it is.  I thought Charlotte was instantly relatable and a voice that was easy to read.  I found the story- as fanatisical as it was- to be absolutely believable.  Everytime I thought I had the ending figured out, the author would put in another twist that would leave me confused.

I am absolutely positive that this book is a standalone.  I appreciated that- and I appreciated the way that she ended the story.  This was such an exciting book to read, it makes me even more positive that I enjoy this author.  If you are a fan of crime shows, the show Medium, or a good plot- you will love this story.  




1 comment:

  1. I didn't even know she had a new book coming out! This sounds like a book I would love too. I like thrillers...sometimes. I have to be in the right mood for them, but it sounds really interesting. And it's a stand alone? Yay!

    ReplyDelete

BLOG DESIGN BY DESIGNER BLOGS