Books We DNF...

Time for another round of books we didn't finish.  As always, your mileage may vary, but here's some insight into what stops us in our, uh, reading tracks.


From Sarah....

By Victoria Lamb
Published on September 24th 2013
Published by: Harlequin Teen
Source: Netgalley
If she sink, she be no witch and shall be drowned.

If she float, she be a witch and must be hanged.

Meg Lytton has always known she is different—that she bears a dark and powerful gift. But in 1554 England, in service at Woodstock Palace to the banished Tudor princess Elizabeth, it has never been more dangerous to practise witchcraft. Meg knows she must guard her secret carefully from the many suspicious eyes watching over the princess and her companions. One wrong move could mean her life, and the life of Elizabeth, rightful heir to the English throne.

With witchfinder Marcus Dent determined to have Meg's hand in marriage, and Meg's own family conspiring against the English queen, there isn't a single person Meg can trust. Certainly not the enigmatic young Spanish priest Alejandro de Castillo, despite her undeniable feelings. But when all the world turns against her, Meg must open her heart to a dangerous choice.
I got about 50 pages in to this one and realized that I didn't like the writing or the characters.  The writing felt dry to me and I was having a hard time connecting with any of the characters -  I didn't care what happened to Meg or anyone else.  The cover's beautiful and the book has a lot of things that I think I'd like -- forbidden love! alternate history! political intrigue! -- but it's just not working for me.  A lot of other readers have given it great reviews, but I just can't get into it.  I've got too many other books out there that I'm excited about reading to spend more time on one I feel meh about.  For reviews from people who enjoyed Witchstruck, try here, here, or here.

By Alexander Gordon Smith
Published on July 23rd 2013
Published by: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
Source: ARC from publisher
Imagine if one day, without warning, the entire human race turns against you, if every person you know, every person you meet becomes a bloodthirsty, mindless savage . . . That’s the horrifying reality for Cal, Brick, and Daisy. Friends, family, even moms and dads, are out to get them. Their world has the Fury. It will not rest until they are dead.

In Alexander Gordon Smith’s adrenaline-fueled saga, Cal and the others must uncover the truth about what is happening before it destroys them all. But survival comes at a cost. In their search for answers, what they discover will launch them into battle with an enemy of unimaginable power.
I have been reading this book for six months and am only a little over halfway through. It's time to admit defeat.  Every time I pick it up to continue, I wind up finding other things to do, so I'm done.  I'm pretty bummed about this one, because I was enjoying it -- it's a pretty different take on a zombie story, and the author is great at crafting really tense, creepy scenes, but... look, this book is almost 700 pages long.  I am not one to suggest unnecessarily turning books into series, but this could have been turned into two books and worked better than carrying around a brick of a book.  Maybe someday I'll come back to it, because I do want to know how all these different plot threads finish.  Or maybe I'll just go read some spoilers.  The book's gotten great reviews from people who have finished it.  Try here or here to see some excellent feedback on The Fury.

From Coranne...

By Melissa Marr
Published on October 8th 2013
Published by HarperCollins
Source: Publisher
Return to the world of Melissa Marr's bestselling series and discover how the events of Wicked Lovely set a different faery tale in motion. . . . Originally presented as a manga series and now available for the first time as a stand-alone novel, Desert Tales combines tentative romance, outward strength, and inner resolve in a faery story of desert and destiny.

The Mojave Desert was a million miles away from the plots and schemes of the Faerie Courts—and that's exactly why Rika chose it as her home. The once-mortal faery retreated to the desert's isolation after decades of carrying winter's curse inside her body. But her seclusion—and the freedom of the desert fey—is threatened by the Summer King's newfound strength. And when the manipulations of her trickster friend, Sionnach, thrust Rika into a new romance, she finds new power within herself—and a new desire to help Sionnach protect the desert fey and mortals alike. The time for hiding is over.
I am not totally sure why I DNF this one.  I loved the Wicked Lovely series.  I kept getting interrupted and then lost the book for a good month.  I will return to this one... after I get caught up on review books...


By Cayla Kluver
Published on January 28th 2014
Published by Harlequin Teen
Source: Publisher
Magic was seeping out of me, black and agonizing. I could see it drifting away. The magic that would let me pass the Road to reach home again.

When sixteen-year-old Anya learns that her aunt, Queen of the Faerie Kingdom of Chrior, will soon die, her grief is equalled only by her despair for the future of the kingdom. Her young cousin, Illumina, is unfit to rule, and Anya is determined not to take up the queen's mantle herself.

Convinced that the only solution is to find Prince Zabriel, who long ago disappeared into the human realm of Warckum, and persuade him to take up his rightful crown, Anya journeys into the Warckum Territory to bring him home. But her journey is doomed to be more harrowing than she ever could have imagined.
This one had so much potential.  Love, adventure, fantasy, fae.  But I got about 30% in and NOTHING WAS HAPPENING!  I have no patience to just "get through" a book. 


By Michelle Madow
Published on February 25th 2014
Published by Harlequin Teen
Source: Publisher
Savannah. Courtney. Peyton.

The three sisters grew up not knowing their father and not quite catching a break. But it looks like their luck is about to change when they find out the secret identity of their long-lost dad—a billionaire Las Vegas hotel owner who wants them to come live in a gorgeous penthouse hotel suite. Suddenly the Strip's most exclusive clubs are all-access, and with an unlimited credit card each, it should be easier than ever to fit right in. But in a town full of secrets and illusion, fitting in is nothing compared to finding out the truth about their past.
Oof, I want to be kind.  This book sounded so awesome.  However I didn't like ANY of the characters.  The pool scene at the beginning- ew and WTF!  This read like a bad reality show and I found myself rooting against all the mc's.  No thanks.


By Ilsa J. Bick
Published on February 11th 2014
Published by Egmont USA
Source: Publisher
In the tradition of Memento and Inception comes a thrilling and scary young adult novel about blurred reality where characters in a story find that a deadly and horrifying world exists in the space between the written lines.

Seventeen-year-old Emma Lindsay has problems: a head full of metal, no parents, a crazy artist for a guardian whom a stroke has turned into a vegetable, and all those times when she blinks away, dropping into other lives so ghostly and surreal it's as if the story of her life bleeds into theirs. But one thing Emma has never doubted is that she's real.

Then she writes "White Space," a story about these kids stranded in a spooky house during a blizzard.

Unfortunately, "White Space" turns out to be a dead ringer for part of an unfinished novel by a long-dead writer. The manuscript, which she's never seen, is a loopy Matrix meets Inkheart story in which characters fall out of different books and jump off the page. Thing is, when Emma blinks, she might be doing the same and, before long, she's dropped into the very story she thought she'd written. Trapped in a weird, snow-choked valley, Emma meets other kids with dark secrets and strange abilities: Eric, Casey, Bode, Rima, and a very special little girl, Lizzie. What they discover is that they--and Emma--may be nothing more than characters written into being from an alternative universe for a very specific purpose.

Now what they must uncover is why they've been brought to this place--a world between the lines where parallel realities are created and destroyed and nightmares are written--before someone pens their end.
Why didn't anyone tell me this was a horror book?  *shakes*


By Janette Oke, Laurel Oke Logan
Published on February 4th 2014
Published by Bethany House Publishers
Source: Netgalley
Her courage and her heart will be tested in ways she never expected... Beth Thatcher has spent her entire life in the safe, comfortable world of her family, her friends, and the social outings her father's wealth provides. But Beth is about to leave it all behind to accept a teaching position in the rugged foothills of western Canada. Inspired by her aunt Elizabeth, who went west to teach school several years ago, and gently encouraged by her father, Beth resolves to put her trust in God and bravely face any challenge that comes her way.

But the conditions in Coal Valley are even worse than she'd feared. A recent mining accident has left the town grieving and at the mercy of the mining company. The children have had very little prior education, and many of the locals don't even speak English. There isn't even a proper schoolhouse. In addition, Beth's heart is torn between two young men--both Mounties, one a lifelong friend and the other a kind, quiet man who comes to her aid more than once.

Despite the many challenges, Beth is determined to make a difference in the rustic frontier town. But when her sister visits from the East, reminding her of all the luxuries she's had to give up, will Beth decide to return to her privileged life as soon as the school year is over?
Another case of the wrong book at the wrong time.  I may come back to this one because I used to love this author.  I don't think I was in the mood for this book.

4 comments:

  1. Sounds like all good reasons to stop reading. I've had a couple DNFs this year. I usually hate quitting, but I've decided to allow myself more often this year.

    ReplyDelete
  2. I laughed at your reason for quitting White Space because I've had the same thing happen to me. I get into a book only to find out it's a horror story. Then I debate if I should scare myself half to death or give up and not find out what happens.

    I'm surprised that you didn't like The Secret Diamond Sisters. It's been getting good reviews. But sometimes you just don't connect with a book!

    ReplyDelete
  3. I am trying really hard not to DNF anything, but there's one book that I just don't know if I can get through.. So unnecessarily long.

    ReplyDelete
  4. I haven't found a way to DNF yet for me. For some reason I can't. Yet, every time I read a book I didn't like, I think, why didn't I DNF. However, there was one time I ended up enjoying the book more because of the ending.....so I don't know. However, I probably would DNF The Secret Diamond Sisters as well. Not my style.

    ReplyDelete

BLOG DESIGN BY DESIGNER BLOGS