Posts

Showing posts from December, 2013

Empower Excerpt- Merry Christmas!

Image
If you have been following along with me, you know that I LOVE the Violet Eden Chronicles.  They are full of action, danger, awesome fight seasons, and an epic romance.  I am excited to be sharing an excerpt from the final book in the series that will be released in 2014.  This final book takes place two years after the last book.  Tons of things have changed and this is sure to be an emotional finale to the series.





Empower By Jessica Shirvington Published on May 2014
Published by Sourcebooks Fire
It has been two years since Violet Eden walked away from the city, her friends, her future and - most importantly - her soulmate, Lincoln. Part angel, part human, Violet is determined to stand by the promises she made to save the one she loves.

Living in the perpetual coldness of a broken soul she survives day to day as a Rogue Grigori in London.

But when an unexpected visitor shows up at her door, the news he bears about someone she swore to protect leaves Violet with no choice.

Even worse, …

Twistrose Key- Guest Post from our old friend Mandi

Image
The Twistrose Key By Tone Almhiell Published on October 22, 2013
Published by Dial

Source: Anna from Literary Exploration A striking middle-grade debut in the tradition of The Chronicles of Narnia and The Golden Compass

When a mysterious parcel arrives at her family’s new home, eleven-year-old Lin Rosenquist has a curious feeling she’s meant to discover what’s inside.

Much to Lin’s surprise, the ornate key contained in the parcel unlocks a spellbinding world called Sylver, hidden behind the cellar door. Sylver is an enchanting land of eternal winter, inhabited by animals that shared a special connection with children in the real world, either as beloved pets or tamed wild animals. In death, they are delivered to Sylver, where they take on a curiously human-like form and still watch over the children they cherish. While Lin is overjoyed to be reunited with her beloved pet, Rufus, she soon learns that the magic of the Petlings and Wilders is failing, and snow trolls want to claim S…

Top 10 of 2013: Looking Forward to 2014

Image
Friday, December 28th - Top 10 Books I'm looking forward to in 2014. (This list should be comprised of books released ONLY in 2014)



Amanda's Picks! (I only included books that I HAVEN'T had the chance to read yet- I have already read a bunch of fantastic 2014 reads!)
 Dorothy Must Die by Danielle Paige

Ignite Me by Tahereh Mafi

Rebel Belle by Rachel Hawkins

Empower by Jessica Shirvington
Meridian by Josin L McQuein


Sarah's Picks!



Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo



Mortal Heart by RL Lafevers




 Plus One by Elzabeth Fama (Not final cover)

The Forever Song by Julie Kagawa


The Island of Excess Love by Francesca Lia Block


Top 10 of 2013: Best Book Covers

Image
This year, Coranne and I are happy to take part in the Top 10 of 2013 meme.  There have been a ton of amazing books that have come out this year, or which we've read this year, and so we're spreading our top picks out with a new theme every day. 

Today, we're each sharing the best book covers from 2013!  Hold on to your seats, these are some pretty awesome covers,  Be sure to share your favorites in the comments, too.


Coranne's Picks
Doon By Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon Published on August 20th 2013
Published by Zondervan
See our review here!
The lush backdrop, the whimsy, and that beautiful dress. I loved it.  And you know what else?  I loved that it was actually in the book!  I can't stand when they slap a pretty girl on a book and she ends up having nothing to do with the story- this one was perfect!

These Broken Stars By Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner Published on December 10th 2013
Published by Disney Hyperion
See our review here!
I love the font.  I love the star…

Top 10 of 2013: Best Books of 2013

Image
This year, Coranne and I are happy to take part in the Top 10 of 2013 meme.  There have been a ton of amazing books that have come out this year, or which we've read this year, and so we're spreading our top picks out with a new theme every day.

Today, we're each sharing the best books we've read in 2013.  Be sure to share your favorites in the comments - the books don't have to be published in 2013, just ones that you've read this year.

Coranne's Picks
Doon By Carey Corp & Lorie Langdon Published on August 20th 2013
Published by Zondervan
See our review here!
Veronica doesn't think she's going crazy. But why can't anyone else see the mysterious blond boy who keeps popping up wherever she goes? When her best friend, Mackenna, invites her to spend the summer in Scotland, Veronica jumps at the opportunity to leave her complicated life behind for a few months.

But the Scottish countryside holds other plans.

Not only has the imaginary kilted boy…