What my 3 year old is reading...




By Tracey Campbell Pearson
Published on October 22, 2013
Published by
Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR) 
Source: Publisher
The day Gracie loses her favorite book, Elephant finds it. He sniffs the words ONCE UPON A TIME THERE WAS and--oops--they go up his trunk, where they wiggle and jiggle and make him sneeze. The letters fly through the air helter skelter, and when Elephant tries to put them back together, he can't figure out how to make the right words that fit. He asks his friends for help, but they just choose some of the letters to make up their own words--Alligator wants to CHEW them, Seal SPINs them, Monkeys THROW them, and Bear just SNOREs. Lucky for elephant, Gracie comes looking for her book. She makes the letters into the right words and then adds some of her own: a girl went to the zoo and made a new friend.
 So sweet! The story is a clever play on words. I love that it is an elephant. The book is simple enough for my 3 year old to love but teaches him more complex vocabulary and he doesn't even realize it. Big hit in our house!



By Jennifer Hamburg
Published on October 1st 2013
Published by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
Source: Publisher
"Chaos ensues when a child imagines a zoo filled with animals doing the unusual and the unlikely"--

Such a silly book!  A Moose That Says Mooooo!  is one of my son's favorite books to read.  It is the kind of book where things start off normally, but rapidly spiral out of control and silliness and hijinks are everywhere!  I have to say, my favorite part is where the cheetah picks up the phone and yells "HELP!"  The picture on that page gives me a serious case of the giggles every time we read it together.  We are big fans of this book.






By James Dean
Published on October 1, 2013
Published by Harper Collins
Source: WE WILL OWN THIS!!
Pete the Cat is back in New York Times bestselling author James Dean's picture book Pete the Cat and His Magic Sunglasses. Pete the Cat wakes up feeling grumpy—nothing seems to be going his way. But with the help of some magic sunglasses, Pete learns that a good mood has been inside him all along. Readers will love watching Pete take his positive outlook and transform a grumpy day into an awesome day! Fans of Pete the Cat: I Love My White Shoes and Pete the Cat and His Four Groovy Buttons will love joining Pete in his latest groovy picture book

Okay okay okay... so as I am writing this, we don't actually OWN this book yet. But I have watched the book trailer so many times, I feel like we do- this book will be mine (erm, I mean my son's) very very soon!


2 comments:

  1. Aww, I think turning kids into little book nerds would be the greatest part of being a parent ;)

    ReplyDelete
  2. I'm a school psychologist and currently work in 2 K-3 buildings. Despite not having kids yet, I tend to pick up random children's books I like. My excuse is that I can use them with my kiddos, but in reality I mostly just like them! I was doing an observation in a 2nd grade classroom a few weeks ago and they were reading (and listening) to 3 Pete the Cat books. I now have this itch to pick up one or two titles!

    ReplyDelete

BLOG DESIGN BY DESIGNER BLOGS