The Rose Throne


By Mette Ivie Harrison
Published on May 14, 2013
Published by Egmont
Source: Publisher
Richly-imagined fantasy romance from the author of Princess and the Hound, a tale of two princesses--one with magic, one with none--who dare seek love in a world where real choice can never be theirs. For fans of Megan Whalen Turner, Catherine Fisher, and Cassandra Clare. 
Ailsbet loves nothing more than music; tall and red-haired, she's impatient with the artifice and ceremony of her father's court. Marissa adores the world of her island home and feels she has much to offer when she finally inherits the throne from her wise, good-tempered father. The trouble is that neither princess has the power--or the magic--to rule alone, and if the kingdoms can be united, which princess will end up ruling the joint land? For both, the only goal would seem to be a strategic marriage to a man who can bring his own brand of power to the throne. But will either girl be able to marry for love? And can either of these two princesses, rivals though they have never met, afford to let the other live?

Have you ever gone to a restaurant and spied a dessert that looks like it was made just for you?  A big piece of triple chocolate cake- ooey, gooey, and everything you could want from a dessert.  You eagerly order a piece, and when it comes to the table you immediately dive in.  And then.... just meh.  It is not the most fabulous cake ever- not bad, but just... meh. That is the Rose Throne for me.

It really had everything going for it- a pretty princessey red head on the cover, pink pink and more pink, lace, and best of all fantasy.  But it never took off for me.  I really wanted to love this book and it never happened.  I can't even really describe why- the characters were alright, the plot was good, but it just never became a book that I couldn't put down.  I felt like I was reading the outline to a book, rather than the entire book.  Perhaps that was the real problem- I felt like I was being told what was happening rather than feeling like I was part of the book.

I really loved Kellin's character- he really reminded me of Hector from Girl of Fire and Thorns.  However, his "romance" was completely not believable.  I felt like this is how it went:  Girl meets boy. Boy meets girl. They are mean to each other and have a total of 3 conversations (short ones).  Girl and boy are now in love?  Huh?


I loved this authors other books so perhaps this is just a me thing- I just had trouble connecting with this book.  Annabelle at Sparkles and Lightning loved it, so check out her review before deciding for yourself!

2 comments:

  1. Thanks for your honest review. I always enjoy reading reviews when someone's response was lukewarm. I feel like it honestly represents the reading experience. Sometimes you find reads you love and sometimes the book was just, meh. I feel like my response might be the same as yours since the concept sounds interesting but not like I'm dying to read it.

    ReplyDelete
  2. Great review! I just found out about this book and I exactly like you said, it seemed like the perfect piece of red velvet cupcakes for me but it sucks you couldn't get into it more ): I HATE when that happens. You just CAN'T click with a book. I'm crossing my fingers that my reading expeirnce will be better!

    ReplyDelete

BLOG DESIGN BY DESIGNER BLOGS