Faery Tales and Nightmares

Faery Tales and Nightmares
By Melissa Marr
Published by Harper Teen
To be Published on February 21, 2012
Source: Around the World ARC Tours

Summary Taken from Goodreads:

 Dangerous promises and beguiling threats swirl together in a dozen stories of enchantments dark and light by New York Times bestselling author Melissa Marr. Uncanny and unexpected creatures appear from behind bushes, rise from beneath the seas, or manifest from seasonal storms to pursue the objects of their attention—with amorous or sinister intent—relentlessly.

From the gentle tones of a storyteller’s cadences to the terror of a blood sacrifice, tales of favorite characters from Marr’s Wicked Lovely novels mix with accounts of new characters for readers to fall in love with...or to fear.

Lush, seductive, and chilling, Melissa Marr’s stories revel in the unseen magic that infuses the world as we know it.

Table of Contents:
"Where Nightmares Walk"
"Winter's Kiss" (Fairy Tales)
"Transition" (Vampires)
"Love Struck" (Selchies)
"Stopping Time" (WL World)
"Old Habits" (WL World)
"The Art of Waiting"
"Flesh for Comfort"
"The Sleeping Girl and the Sumer King" (WL World-ish, the short story that started the series)
"Cotton Candy Skies" (WL World)
"Unexpected Family" (WL World)
"Merely Mortal" (WL World)

Faery Tales and Nightmares is a collection of Short stories by Melissa Marr.  A majority of these stories are set in the Wicked Lovely World.  Some of these stories take place in the middle of the series, while others take place after the completion of the series.  It would be wise to read the entire Wicked lovely series BEFORE you read this book- or else you will ruin the entire ending of Darkest Mercy (The last book in the series). 

The book starts with a couple short stories that are not set in the Wicked Lovely World.  I enjoyed some of these stories, while one (about vampires) while well-written, was a little too gory for my taste (I almost stopped reading completely... it was gross!).  At the midpoint of the book, a large section (over 5 chapters) is a short story taken from the time after Ink Exchange.  This story involves Niall, Irial, and Leslie.  This was a great story and fun to read about Wicked Lovely characters. It wasn't my favorite though, because those characters really weren't my favorite. 

There were a few stories that involved Niall and Irial. I loved the final stories better, though. I don't really want to go to far into the last few stories- there are too many spoilers.  However, they were so fun to read as a fan of the series- I loved seeing what happened to a few of the loose ends that never got tied up.

If you are a fan of the Wicked Lovely series- pick this book up- but make sure you have finished the series up!

Popular posts from this blog

Valentine's Day With Love Blog Hop (International)

$50 Amazon Gift Card Flash Giveaway!

Blogoversary Day 3: What I have learned +Giveaway