Falling Under- Summer Reading Challenge

Falling Under

By Gwen Hayes

Published by:  New American Library

Published on:  March 2011


Summary Taken from Goodreads:


Theia Alderson has always led a sheltered life in the small California town of Serendipity Falls. But when a devastatingly handsome boy appears in the halls of her school, Theia knows she's seen Haden before- not around town, but in her dreams.

As the Haden of both the night and the day beckons her closer one moment and pushes her away the next, the only thing Theia knows for sure is that the incredible pull she feels towards him is stronger than her fear.

And when she discovers what Haden truly is, Theia's not sure if she wants to resist him, even if the cost is her soul.





Wow, this book was not what I expected at all.  I expected Haden = Hades and for this book to follow a Greek mythological storyline.  That is not what I got at all.

I was shocked that this book was actually about demons and not gods and goddesses, but the story was well done.  The book was relentless, the action literally never stopped- even up until the very last page.


The relationship between Theia and Haden screamed Twilight to me (and there was a very cheeky Twilight joke thrown in that made me want to high five the author).  I wasn't put off by their romance though, considering that the male protagonist is a being that has very.... lustful tendencies.  Whew, this book was steamy!




I loved that the author made me fall in love with the main characters, but REALLY fall in love with the other characters- they are not replaceable or unmemorable- the entire cast of characters was well developed.


This was the first book in the Falling Under series, and the first book was literally left in the middle of a scene- I am looking forward to seeing what happens to the characters. Fans of Twilight or Twilight-esque books will enjoy this novel.

No comments:

Post a Comment

BLOG DESIGN BY DESIGNER BLOGS